Wolverhampton Wanderers Quiz

Generate your own quiz from ... questions

Generate Quiz Now

Generate random by difficulty

Thematic Quizzes

Loading thematic quizzes...

FAQ of Wolverhampton Wanderers

When was Wolverhampton Wanderers founded?

Wolverhampton Wanderers were founded in 1877. They were originally called St Lukes FC as the club was formed by two schoolboys who wanted to set up a church team. Two years later, in 1979, the club merged with a local cricket side and become Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Who owns Wolverhampton Wanderers?

The majority shareholders of Wolverhampton Wanderers are three high ranking members of the Fosun Group. Guo Guangchang is the chairman of the club and he is joined by Fosun’s CEO Wang Qunbin and also by Liang Xinjun who completes the trio of main shareholders.

How many trophies have Wolves won?

Wolves have won 21 major trophies in their history. They won the top flight English division on three occasions between 1954 and 1959. Wolves have also won the FA Cup four times, while other titles have come in the second, third and fourth divisions, plus the League Cup and Charity Shield.

Who are Wolves’ rivals?

Wolves’ biggest rivals are West Bromwich Albion. They are located some 11 miles apart and, as near neighbours, there is a natural rivalry. Games between the two teams are known as Black Country Derbies. Wolves also have rivarlies with other local sides including Walsall and Birmingham City.

What is the nickname of Wolverhampton Wanderers?

The official nickname of Wolverhampton Wanderers is The Wolves. This is solely due to the shortening of the club’s name from Wolverhampton to Wolves. While there is no association with the animal, a wolf appears prominently on the Wolverhampton Wanderers club badge.

What are Wolverhampton fans called?

Fans of rival clubs have referred to Wolves supporters as ‘The Dingles’. The name comes from a fictional family who appear in the Soap Opera Emmerdale. On the television, the Dingles are portrayed as rather simple country folk, so this has been used as a derogatory term for certain supporters.

Why are Wolves called Wanderers?

The cricket team that merged with the original football club in the 1870s was called Blakenhall Wanderers. As the club was based in the Wolverhampton area, the name Wolverhampton Wanderers was chosen. Some teams use the name as ‘wandering’ sides, but that’s not the case here.

Wolverhampton Wanderers Quiz Questions Listed

  1. How many First Division goals did Robbie Keane score for Wolverhampton Wanderers?
  2. Wolves’ famous chant “Si Senor” is associated with which player?
  3. Which club did Wolves defeat in the final of the 1974 League Cup to win their first major trophy?
  4. Wolves’ mascot, Wolfie, is known for wearing what colour?
  5. Wolverhampton Wanderers was a founding member of which football league in England?
  6. Which team is considered Wolverhampton Wanderers’ main rival?
  7. How many times have Wolverhampton Wanderers won the FA Cup in their history?
  8. Who managed Wolverhampton Wanderers to their first ever FA Cup win in 1893?
  9. What is the capacity of Molineux Stadium?
  10. In which season did Wolves achieve their highest-ever Premier League finish, ending in seventh place?
  11. What was the final score in the famous “Sherpa Van Trophy” final in 1988 when Wolves faced Burnley at Wembley Stadium?
  12. Which club did Wolves play in the quarter-finals of the 2019-20 UEFA Europa League?
  13. Wolverhampton Wanderers famously won the 1953-54 English First Division title. How many points did they accumulate that season?
  14. Wolves reached the semi-finals of the UEFA Cup in 1972. Which club did they face in the semi-finals?
  15. Who scored the first goal for Wolves’ 3-2 defeat over Tottenham Hotspur in the 1972 UEFA Cup final?
  16. In which season did Wolverhampton Wanderers last win the Texaco Cup?
  17. Which country is Joao Moutinho from, who joined Wolverhampton Wanderers in 2018?
  18. What is the name of the local derby between Wolverhampton Wanderers and West Bromwich Albion?
  19. In which year did Wolverhampton Wanderers celebrate their 100th anniversary as a football club?
  20. Which Wolverhampton Wanderers player won the FWA Footballer of the Year award for the 1951-52 season?
  21. When was the FA Community Shield last won by Wolverhampton Wanderers?
  22. When was the FA Community Shield won for the first time by Wolverhampton Wanderers?
  23. In what year did Wolverhampton Wanderers win their last Premier League/First Division title?
  24. In the 1937–38 Football League season, Wolves secured a 2nd place finish. What was the point difference between them and the champions, Arsenal?
  25. Wolverhampton Wanderers finished the 1966–67 Championship season in second place. How many points were they behind the winner Coventry City?
  26. How many times has Wolverhampton Wanderers won the EFL Championship?
  27. What year did Wolverhampton Wanderers win the EFL Championship?
  28. How many times have Wolverhampton Wanderers won the Premier League/First Division?
  29. How many Championship triumphs Wolverhampton Wanderers has?
  30. What is the number of times Wolverhampton Wanderers have won the League One?
  31. Wolverhampton Wanderers faced which team in the 1892-93 FA Cup final?